top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTanya Kotlowski

Faith In Humanity: Forgiveness Makes a Difference

It is a crazy how your brain works. It is perplexing to reflect on when it begins working, what it begins thinking about for no real reason, and how it constructs meaning from its activity. Blessing or curse, here it goes.


I was outside filling our outdoor wood burner this evening when I began thinking about my natural faith in humanity. This was, of course, after I took a quick digger as I was burrowing out a piece of wood from the snow.


After laughing at myself for falling, and feeling overly thankful I wasn't hurt, I began generating well wishes for various people in my life that are struggling with circumstances both within and beyond their control. I was ticking off names of people in my head, sending them thoughts of comfort and peace, when I suddenly realized how incredibly blessed I am to have such a strong faith in the power of humankind. I began thinking about how I could help those in need. I thought about those near I could give a hug to tomorrow, and those far away I could send a kind supportive thought through a quick message.


I then became thankful for how blessed I am to be able to refrain from judgement, and quickly move towards compassion. I have always felt people struggling with things in their control usually judge themselves much harsher than I ever could. Besides, who am I to judge anyway? It is just how I was raised and how my general disposition has been constructed over time. I think it was all that compassion my mom instilled in me through raising farm animals, accepting foster siblings, and always making me hug my sister when we were fighting. I was raised to find the best in others, and understand the positive impact of compassion and kindness.


Yes, I get hurt and my human instincts kick in with passion, emotion, and defensiveness; however, through my own forgiveness I am able to forgive others. This chain of events helps me to heal quickly, and to nurture a relationship that builds off my own faith in the power of compassion and kindness. Forgive yourself, forgive others, and always always be compassionate and kind. I find this to be the recipe for a healthy life, happy relationships, a prosperous community, and a peaceful world. I have faith in the positive power of human nature, if we can find a way to forgive. It is through forgiveness we find love. Doesn't our world need more of this? What can you do today to make a difference for someone? Hugs and well wishes are free. While you are thinking about it, watch out for that snow, it can be slippery.


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page