top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTanya Kotlowski

The Internal Battle: Choose Wisely

Several years back, I ran a marathon. During this grueling event, I had many thoughts going through my head. I was thinking, "I can't do this. I can do this. I'm not going to make it. I can make it." During the race, my emotions were fueled by what my body was telling me and what my mind was telling me. Truly, either one could have won the battle to decide whether or not I finished the race, but I found myself doing more self-talk than anything. I kept telling myself, "You can do this." Every time my body said "Stop," my mind said, "Keep going. You got this. You worked hard for this." Ultimately, I finished the race. Not without pain, let me add.


The battle of negative versus positive thinking is a battle we all fight every day. When we are fearful of something, or have a level of self-doubt, negativity can take over. When this happens, we tend to respond to others and ourselves in unhealthy uninviting ways. We draw back and start with outward personal attacks, or we begin to cope inward with techniques that are unhealthy for our bodies. You do have a choice. The choice we make to either let negativity consume us, or to counter the emotion with positive self-talk, will dictate your happiness and success.


Even the happiest and most successful people in the world have experienced self-doubt and fear. The difference between these individuals and those who are unhappy and have many unfulfilled goals is their ability to conquer their emotions with optimism, hope, and "positive truth." What we believe about ourselves, others, and the world we live in, creates a disposition that helps us fight the battle we face. With an increase in the ability to spew negativity through advancements in technology, it is more important than ever to "believe." Don't let negativity win. Tell yourself you are worth it, you can do it, and nobody can stop you. Confront negativity with the same passion we did as we began walking or talking.


YOU are an important member of our community. Believe in yourself and the power you have to make a difference. Together, we will combat that inner demon of negative emotion. When you find that negative emotion consuming you, let your inner strength take over. Control it with positive self-talk....You can do this! Your only boundary to all possibilities is if you let fear and self-doubt win. If you believe it, you will see it, and the path will become clear. Choose wisely!

e.





31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page